Cartier Geneva

Fresco and Marble mosaic floor

  • Project manager: Agence Moinard Bétaille
  • Project owner: Cartier Patrimoine
  • Location: 35 rue du Rhône - Geneva
  • Project: Fresco and marble mosaic floor
  • Surface area: Fresco 11 sqm - Floor 14 sqm
  • Delivery: 2021

The Cartier store in Geneva, located at number 35 of the luxury boutique street, rue du Rhône, since 1969, and situated at the tip of lac Léman, has just been renovated. This listed building encompasses the historical expertise of Swiss jewelry craftsmanship, and houses the ateliers de la restauration Cartier tradition and Cartier poinçon. Agency Moinard Bétaille in collaboration with the Cartier patrimoine team came to me to create the floor and fresco for the main entrance of the store.
The marble floor “Soleil levant” is composed of a brass insert inspired by a piece of Cartier jewelry and it spreads out to preface the large fresco in mosaic comprised of six panels. Each element from Geneva is represented in a pure and magnified way: edelweiss, grasses… are brought together in a hue of similar shades, a monochrome of lac Léman colours; the shoreline melts into mountains, glittering snow, sky and this is where the snow leopard sits as queen.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenevaMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenevaMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenevaMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenevaMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenevaMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenevaMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenevaMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenevaMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Geneva

Cartier Paris Faubourg Saint Honoré

Galaxy

  • Project manager: 4BI & Associés
  • Project owner: Cartier
  • Location: 17 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré - Paris 8e
  • Project: Mosaic marble floor
  • Surface area: 80 sqm
  • Delivery: 2020
Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint Honoré

To mark the renovation of the legendary Cartier store on the rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré in Paris, the ground floor has been adorned with a coat made from stones cut from marble. At the entrance, the client steps onto the first galactic disk, that shines in a shades of golden yellows and nudes. This first circle flickering in different nuances of marble guides the client towards the staircase that takes them up to the first floor and joins a tentacular grid of opalescent white marble; a movement that takes them to another galaxy. This nebula located at the back of the store, is set in a carpet that creates a more intimate space, where thousands of marble tesserae gravitate like little precious stones in the same gradient of golden yellows. This marble floor is a painting, micro or macro elements of the Milky Way made of stardust in marble that gravitate around these two circles creating an energy similar to the Galaxie ring.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint Honoré

Vinci Immobilier

Saint-Charles House

  • Project manager: Vinci Immobilier
  • Project owner: Maison Saint-Charles
  • Location: 310 - 312 rue de Vaugirard - Paris 15e
  • Project: Fresco MSC and HDT
  • Delivery: 2021

Hidden away in the heart of the Convention neighborhood, between the rue de Vaugirard and the rue Blomet, in the 15e arrondissement of Paris, the Maison Saint-Charles has, for 150 years, housed the Dominican Sisters religious community. This remarkable site is composed of a chapel and two magnificent cloitres, planted, in an open-air garden, with hundred year old trees.
Not able to maintain the listed building that was becoming dilapidated, the Sisters entrusted the renovation project to Vinci Immobilier who then came to me to create two large frescoes for the entrance hall of number 310 and 312 and the totems in the passageway, which were done in collaboration with TRISTAN AUER. The mosaic fit within the guidelines of the « Un immeuble, une oeuvre» (one building, one artwork) signed in 2015 by Vinci Immobilier with the Ministère de la culture (France’s governmental Department of Culture) and is symbolically based on the Orignal language through the depiction of the Sisters’ fingerprints and the rings of the trees in the space.

Mathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci Immobilier

Cartier Jeddah

Fresco

  • Project manager: Agence Moinard Bétaille
  • Project owner: Cartier Patrimoine
  • Location: El Kayyat - Jeddah
  • Project: Fresco
  • Surface area: 14 sqm
  • Delivery: 2022

To mark the occasion of the renovation of the Cartier El Kayyat store in Jeddah,Agency Moinard Bétaille entrusted me with the creation of the central fresco.Sand, the Red Sea, the sky, the skyline, King Fahd’s Fountain, the vegetation,palm trees, are all interpreted in a pure and magnified style.
The kinetic repetition of the “calisson” shape (an oval French biscuit) portrays water in rapport with the sky, was inspired by aCartier broach from 1910, and depicts a movement, a depth, a perspective.
This dialog between materials of the tesserae, mat and brilliant, lend a dynamic effect;contemporary patterns inspired by reflections on the water and long expanses of hot sand evoke the desert landscapes,and hold in the heart of the composition, the majestic Cartier panther.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Jeddah

Cartier NYC

Fresco

  • Project manager: Laura Gonzales
  • Project owner: Cartier Patrimoine
  • Location: 653 Fifth Avenue - New York City
  • Project: Fresco
  • Surface area: 12.5 sqm
  • Delivery: 2021

The Cartier store located at number 653 on Fifth Avenue in New York City, is an emblem of Maison Cartier’s cultural heritage, amidst Manhattan’s skyscrapers; it’s adjacent to Central Park, an oasis and romantic spot for brides and grooms to-be. Laura Gonzales, who was given the task to renovate the interior architecture of this private townhouse, entrusted me with the creation of a fresco in the bridal space, on the third floor of the building.
The sketch of the fresco portrays Central Park’s rich vegetation, with a focus, in the background, on an organic shape; jagged flower petals, inspired by the «Guillochage» motif technique of the 16 th century, dear to the Maison Cartier.
Spring insects dot themselves upon this contemporary grid: butterflies, dragonflies et ladybugs all dressed in bright colours echoing the jewelry and gemstones of la Maison Cartier. Fauna and flora mix in a movement composed of mat tesserae and brilliant white gold settings. Light plays with this composition revealing a mosaic as precious as the treasure chest it lies within.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York City

MH Architectes

Medusas and Birds

  • Project manager: Martin Herbert
  • Location: Private home - Paris 5e
  • Project: Fresco
  • Surface area: 10 sqm
  • Delivery: 2020

I’m mesmerised (médusée, in French the word jellyfish is used to describe being transfixed)… fascinated by this monumental fresco that stands at 6 meters tall ! Revelation, equivocal at first sight to the intertwining of two opposing worlds, air and water, yet these complementary worlds create life together… Everything is in movement, close to a dream state, making its way towards an invisible part of the Universe… The choice of materials, (enamel, cameo glass, mother-of-pearl tesserae, copper, bronze) participate in the kinetic dynamic each taking a role to reveal lavish representations underlined by vivacious and subtle colours chosen by the artist. Depending on the animal depicted : evanescent jellyfish with transparent sails, multicoloured island birds whose rival colours compete… They are both versatile elements made of air and water at the same time, necessary to one another… An improbable and exhilarating universe in which different animal species meet and float around each other in concert…! This mystery of life is daring and full of sensuality, and that is what the mosaic artist Mathilde Jonquière wishes to sublime ! The slowness of the jellyfish whose pulses we can imagine, opposes the intensity of fluttering of the birds’ wings… each showing off each other’s existence by stating their differences, and also with their commun search for survival ! Out of this fresco floats a rare intensity, the result of a troubling energy that fascinates the spectator, and is without a doubt the materialised energy of the artist herself…

The light of the fresco that projects onto the spectator, gives them the impresson they are being pulled in, between dream and reality, a strange magic comes out of the scene into their mesmerised eyes… Melting into this unsuspected but harmonious world where species cohabite is a difficult temptation to repress… However a mystery remains : wouldn’t diving into this Lewis Carroll-like world be in effect to transform into Alice discovering a space, behind the looking glass, a surreal experience concocted by the artist? To dare this metaphor, a kind of regression likened to primitive sensations of a foetus in it’s maternal amniotic fluid, the first experience of life that happens in the womb, to finally be born and leave the nest… Since this time, identifying with each one of these creatures, means accessing a feeling of freeing weightlessness, in a poetic space/time ! Thanks to her daring piece, Mathilde Jonquière gives us this opportunity to escape for a moment from the weight of the material constraints, a precious relief to access an « out of time » liberation… The magic of this fresco lies in its lavish celebration of life!

Etty Buzyn, Psychanalyste, 2020.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH Architectes

Jacques Semer

Effloraison

  • Project owner: Jacques Semer
  • Location: 56 rue Caulaincourt - Paris 18e
  • Project: Fresco
  • Surface area: 4 sqm
  • Delivery: 2019

Jacques Semer florist asks Mathilde Jonquière for the creation of a fresco wall for the rehabilitation of his 56, rue Caulaincourt Montmartre store, in Paris 18ème arrondissement. A beautiful friendship grew between these two neighbours, meeting in the same cafe every morning. This new mosaic takes birth in the floral landscape sharing by Jacques Semer and Mathilde Jonquière who chooses the essence of the buttercup for its delicacy, elegance and its shades of soft pink. The fresco is composed with an intention of macroscopic framing like an aerial photograph. The mosaic is carefully designed line by line by 24-carat gold threads like an embroidery, a topstitching effect symbolizing the different veins, layers and marks of the flower effloraison and surround the organic shapes of the serrated petals in soft pink shades. This fresco,created like a Japanese woodblock landscape by the subtle overlay of scales, suggests a moving deep nature, revealing the floral world of Jacques Semer.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques Semer

Cartier Madrid

Le Paon & La Panthère

  • Project manager: Laura Gonzalez
  • Location: Cartier - Serrano - Madrid
  • Project: Fresco and marble mosaic floor
  • Surface area: Fresco 11 sqm - Floor 14 sqm
  • Delivery: 2019

For the rehabilitation project of the Cartier store in calle Serrano, Madrid, the Patrimoine Department and the interior designer Laura Gonzales ask Mathilde Jonquière for the creation of two mosaics : a precious marble paving and a fresco wall. The design of the two mosaics reflects the city of Madrid and the House of Cartier. We can first see the golden dressed panther, totemic attribute of Jeanne Toussaint and part of the pictorial history of the House. Sovereign, the panther stares directly at the majestic peacock eyes. The peacock, living in Campo del Moro Royal Garden, reminds of the timeless figure of a woman confident in her nobility, the royal city and gardens, and Cartier’s jewelry collections. The golden shape of the CrystalPalace, one of the famous architectural work in Madrid, designs a setting with raining mounting chains and high lights the outline of the El Retiro Park pruned cypresses, on which the spectacular animals are perched.This mosaic is mainly composed of glass paste, hand-crafted glass enamels and tessera in 24-carat antique gold. The marble paving at the entrance of the store becomes the threshold between the reality and the magic. From the entrance, the eyes get into beautiful organic shades of two marble pieces in pink, beige and cream white colors, then meet the fresco and its tale, as a true call for dreaming. The design of the marble mosaic is inspired from a 1930’s Cartier minaudière and highlights the idea of a sumptuous store,trimmed and enveloping, imagined as a frame.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura Gonzalez

Nathalie Sommer - TJCA architectes

Medusa

  • Project manager: Nathalie Sommer - TJCA architectes
  • Location: Private villa - Geneva
  • Project: Marble mosaic floor
  • Surface area: 30 sqm
  • Delivery: 2019

Mathilde Jonquière has chosen the jellyfish to dress the floor of a villa. Mathilde Jonquière uses the animal motif more and more in her work to put in her aesthetical research the energy of the living and its movement.The jellyfish, with its filament nebula close to the cosmic, imposes itself in this unique place which is close to the lake, between the sky and the water. The jellyfish is part of the zoophytes family. Between a plant and an animal, full of light, it adorns on the mosaic small brass rounds running over its tentacles. The role of the jellyfish is still quite mysterious inside the biosphere: fascinating and threatening, it’s a questioning specie. Its umbrella-shaped bell is constituted of mesoglea, as dense as the water, which is why it can hold suspended underwater. The choice of the marble to represent this fluidity goes with Mathilde Jonquière’s approach to transcend the material, to divert it : the persistent nature of the marble, rigid and hard, becomes suddenly alive and dress up with light, starting to wave and declining the different colors of the sunrise. Between dynamism and abandon, curves, lignes and fluidity, empties and full, the tentacles of the jellyfish unfold with grace in the space of the villa entrance and bring harmony and serenity in the welcoming area of this exceptional house.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA Meduse

Le Bon Marché

La Grande Épicerie Rive Droite

  • Project owner: Le Bon Marché
  • Location: La Grande Épicerie - Paris 16e
  • Project: Frescos for 4 stalls
  • Surface area: 80 sqm
  • Delivery: 2017

La Grande Epicerie de Paris is now rue de Passy on the Rive droite. On this occasion, Le BonMarché entrusted Mathilde Jonquière with the creation of four 20m2 figurative mosaics that bring out the elegance of the products and the savoir-faire. For the Chocolaterie, a thin copper trim sets the chocolate tablette, revealing by its shimmering the multiple facets reflecting the light of this Tablettothèque. The space of the Bakery shows lemon tarts, which glass enamels verging on neon yellow contrast with a dark background made of mat black stoneware, for a clean and sophisticated outcome. The Boulangerie, more traditional, displays a background made of pure white stoneware with aged gold trims bringing out a modern aspect to the common approach of ears of wheat design. Finally, the Fish Market shows beautiful Sea Breams, which gold tessera brin gout the electric blue tails in a shimmer. The radiance triggers a sense of movement and depth to the school of fish swimming through the space.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droite

Cartier Genève

Sol et Fresque

  • Maître d’œuvre : Agence Moinard Bétaille
  • Maître d’ouvrage : Cartier Patrimoine
  • Lieu : 35 rue du Rhône - Genève
  • Projet : Fresque et Sol en marbre
  • Surface : 15 m² et 28 m²
  • Livraison : 2021

La boutique Cartier Genevoise installée depuis 1969 au numéro 35 de la luxueuse rue du Rhône et située à la pointe du lac Léman fait peau neuve. Ce bâtiment classé représente le savoir-faire historique de la haute joaillerie genevoise, elle y accueille les ateliers de la restauration Cartier tradition et Cartier poinçon. L’agence Moinard Bétaille en collaboration avec l’équipe Cartier patrimoine me sollicitent pour créer le sol et la fresque de l’entrée principale de la boutique.
Le sol en marbre “Soleil levant” est composé d’insert en laiton inspiré d’un bijou Cartier et se déploit pour présenter la grande fresque en mosaïque composée de six panneaux. Chaque élément Genevois y est représenté de manière épurée et magnifiée : edelweiss, graminées … le tout uni dans un ton sur ton et des camaïeux proche du lac Léman où se fond littoral, montagnes enneigées nacrées, ciel et où trône telle une reine la panthère des neiges.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenèveMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenèveMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenèveMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenèveMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenèveMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenèveMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenèveMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier GenèveMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Genève

Cartier Paris Faubourg Saint Honoré

Galaxie

  • Maître d’œuvre : 4BI & Associés
  • Maître d’ouvrage : Cartier
  • Lieu : 17 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré - Paris 8e
  • Projet : Sol en mosaïque de marbre
  • Surface : 80 m²
  • Livraison : 2020
Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint Honoré

À l’occasion de la rénovation de la mythique boutique Cartier de la rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré à Paris, le sol du rez-de-chaussée se pare d’un manteau de pierres taillées en marbre. À l’entrée de la boutique le client franchit le premier disque galactique rayonnant dans un camaïeu jaune d’or et nude. Ce premier cercle cristallisé aux différentes nuances de marbre guide le client vers l’escalier menant au premier étage et rejoint une trame tentaculaire de marbre blanc opalescent tout en mouvement qui l’emmène vers une autre galaxie. Cette nébuleuse située au fond de la boutique est serti d’un tapis créant un espace plus intimiste d’où gravitent, de nouveau, des milliers de tesselles de marbre comme des pierres précieuses dans un même dégradé jaune d’or. Ce sol en marbre se dessine comme une grande toile, micro ou macro élément de la voie lactée composé de poussières d’étoiles en marbre qui gravitent autour de ces deux cercles créant une énergie à l’image de la bague Galaxie.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint HonoréMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Saint Honoré

Vinci Immobilier

Maison Saint-Charles

  • Maître d’œuvre : Vinci Immobilier
  • Maître d’ouvrage : Maison Saint-Charles
  • Lieu : 310 - 312 rue de Vaugirard - Paris 15e
  • Projet : Fresques MSC et HDT
  • Livraison : 2021

Niché au cœur du quartier Convention entre la rue de Vaugirard et la rue Blomet, dans le 15e arrondissement de Paris, la Maison Saint-Charles héberge depuis 150 ans les religieuses de la congrégation des Sœurs Dominicaines. Ce site remarquable est composé d’une chapelle et de deux cloitres magnifiques plantés d’arbres centenaires en plein ciel.
Ne pouvant plus assumer l’entretien du lieu devenu vétuste, les Sœurs ont confié le projet de rénovation à Vinci Immobilier qui m’a ensuite sollicité pour créer deux grandes fresques dans les hall d’entrée du 310 et du 312 et des totems dans la coursive en collaboration avec l’agence TRISTAN AUER.
Le projet de mosaïque s’inscrit dans le cadre de la charte « Un immeuble, une œuvre» signée en 2015 par Vinci Immobilier avec le Ministère de la culture et s’inspire symboliquement du langage originel à travers la représentation de l’empreinte digitale des Sœurs et des cernes du bois du lieu.

Mathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci ImmobilierMathilde Jonquière - Vinci Immobilier

Cartier Jeddah

Fresque

  • Maître d’œuvre : Agence Moinard Bétaille
  • Maître d’ouvrage : Cartier Patrimoine
  • Lieu : El Kayyat - Jeddah
  • Projet : Fresque
  • Surface : 14 m²
  • Livraison : 2022

À l’occasion de la rénovation de la boutique Cartier El Kayyat à Jeddah, l’agence Moinard Bétaille me confie la création de la fresque centrale. Le sable, la mer rouge, le ciel, la skyline, le jet d’eau du roi Fahd, la végétation, le palmier, y sont représentés de manière épurée et magnifiée.
La répétition cinétique de la forme “calisson” de l’eau en rapport avec le ciel, inspirée de la broche Cartier de 1910, dessine un mouvement, une profondeur, une perspective.
Ce dialogue des matières entre tesselles mates et brillantes dynamise l’effet de trame contemporaine inspiré des miroitements de l’eau et d’étendue de sable chaud évoquant les paysages du désert avec en plein centre la majestueuse panthère Cartier.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier JeddahMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Jeddah

Cartier NYC

Fresque

  • Maître d’œuvre : Laura Gonzales
  • Maître d’ouvrage : Cartier Patrimoine
  • Lieu : 653 Fifth Avenue - New York City
  • Projet : Fresque
  • Surface : 12.5 m²
  • Livraison : 2021

La boutique Cartier 653 Fifth Avenue à New York, témoin du patrimoine culturel de la Maison Cartier se situe au milieu des gratte-ciel de Manhattan et à côté de Central Park, véritable oasis de verdure et lieu rêvé pour les futurs mariés. Laura Gonzales chargée de refaire l’architecture intérieure de cet hôtel particulier me sollicite pour créer une fresque dans l’espace Bridal au troisième étage de ce bâtiment.
Le dessin de la fresque met en scène la dimension foisonnante de la végétation de Central Park avec en arrière plan un zoom sur la forme organique du pétale dentelé des fleurs, inspirée du motif «Guillochage» technique de gravure du XVIième siècle chère à la Maison Cartier.
En micro viennent se poser sur cette trame contemporaine les insectes du printemps : papillons, libellules et coccinelles dans des couleurs acidulées à l’exemple des bijoux et pierres précieuses de la Maison Cartier. La faune et la flore se mélangent dans un mouvement composé de tesselles mates et brillantes sertis d’or blanc. Le tout jouant avec la lumière en révélant une mosaïque aussi précieuse que l’écrin qu’elle habite.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York CityMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier New York City

MH Architectes

Méduses et Oiseaux

  • Maître d’œuvre : Martin Herbert
  • Lieu : Maison privée - Paris 5e
  • Projet : Fresque
  • Surface : 10 m²
  • Livraison : 2020

Je reste « médusée »… fascinée par cette fresque monumentale qui s’élève à 6 mètres de hauteur ! Révélation, certes équivoque au premier abord dans l’imbrication de deux mondes opposés, l’air et l’eau, mondes pourtant complémentaires pour permettre qu’advienne la vie… Tout y est mouvement, élévation proche du rêve, vers cet ailleurs invisible de l’univers… Le choix des matériaux, (émaux, pâte de verre, tesselles d’ornacre, cuivre, laiton) participe à cette dynamique cinétique chacun assumant son rôle révélateur de somptueuses représentations sublimées par les couleurs vives et subtiles choisies par l’artiste. En fonction de l’animal représenté : méduses évanescentes aux voiles transparents, oiseaux des iles multicolores qui rivalisent de couleurs provocantes… Ils occupent indifféremment l’élément polyvalent fait d’air et d’eau mêlés, éléments nécessaires l’un à l’autre… Un univers improbable et jubilatoire dans lequel se côtoient et flottent de concert, des espèces animales différentes…! Audace dans ce mystère d’une vie nimbée de sensualité que la mosaïste Mathilde Jonquière souhaite ainsi sublimer ! A la lenteur de la méduse dont on peut imaginer les pulsations, s’oppose l’intensité des bruissements d’ailes de l’oiseau… l’un met en valeur la présence de l’autre dans leur différence certes, mais aussi par leur commune recherche de survie ! De cette fresque émane en effet une rare intensité, fruit d’une énergie troublante qui fascine le spectateur, sans aucun doute l’énergie ainsi matérialisée de l’artiste elle même…

La luminescence de la fresque qui se projette sur le spectateur, donne à ce dernier la sensation d’être comme aspiré par elle, et entre rêve et réalité, l’étrange magie de de la scène qui se déploie à ses yeux éblouis… Tentation difficile à réprimer que de se fondre dans ce monde insoupçonné et pourtant harmonieux où toutes les espèces peuvent cohabiter… Cependant un mystère demeure : s’immerger dans cet univers imaginaire à la « Lewis Carroll » ne consisterait-il pas à se transformer en une « Alice au Pays des Merveilles » dans la découverte d’un espace, celui de l’Autre côté du miroir véritable expérience surréaliste telle que l’a conçue l’artiste ? Oser la métaphore d’une sorte de régression aux sensations archaïques d’un fœtus dans le liquide amniotique maternel, première expérience de la vie in utero pour pouvoir enfin naître et prendre son envol… Dès lors, s’identifier à chacune de ces créatures, c’est accéder à l’euphorie d’une expérience d’ apesanteur libératrice, dans un espace/ temps éminemment poétique ! Grâce à son œuvre audacieuse, Mathilde Jonquière nous offre ainsi la généreuse opportunité d’échapper un moment au poids écrasant des contraintes matérielles, allègement précieux pour accéder à un « hors temps » libérateur… Magie de cette fresque dans sa somptueuse célébration d’un hymne à la vie !

Etty Buzyn, Psychanalyste, 2020.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH ArchitectesMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique MH Architectes

Jacques Semer

Effloraison

  • Maître d’ouvrage : Jacques Semer
  • Lieu : 56 rue Caulaincourt - Paris 18e
  • Projet : Fresque
  • Surface : 4 m²
  • Livraison : 2019

La lecture de la fresque est double. On y devine une intention macroscopique, comme une photographie aérienne. Ici s’écoule un cours d’eau, là s’enroulent des rapides; plus loin une source jaillit… Le motif est rond, féminin et céleste, comme des nuages enveloppés de rayons de soleil et de vent. À l’exemple d’un paysage d’estampe japonaise, la mosaïque est rigoureusement composée ligne par ligne, se faisant l’écho d’une tradition ancestrale. Ce paysage floral peut se lire en outre comme un cadrage serré sur la nervure, où l’on y découvre le microcosme végétal, la forme organique du pétale dentelé, l’empreinte de l’épanouissement des fleurs. Une profondeur apparaît entre les effloraisons en corolle et la trame accélérée du feuillage. L’abstraction naît de la superposition subtile des échelles, suggérant toutes deux une nature libre et déliée, aux motifs organiques.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques SemerMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Fleuriste Jacques Semer

Cartier Madrid

Le Paon & La Panthère

  • Maître d’œuvre : Laura Gonzalez
  • Lieu : Cartier - Serrano - Madrid
  • Projet : Fresque et Sol en mosaïque de marbre
  • Surface : Fresque 11 m² - Sol 14 m²
  • Livraison : 2019

Dans la mythologie grecque, le paon est attribué à Héra, la déesse protectrice des femmes. Il aurait obtenu les ocelles de son plumage des cent yeux d’Argos que Héra aurait parsemés sur sa traîne. Fidèle gardien et compagnon, il est l’oiseau talisman de la féminité. Le paon bleu, conscient de sa superbe, est sans doute l’oiseau le plus spectaculaire. Il est capable lorsqu’il déploie son plumage de provoquer une émotion esthétique forte que magnifie son air de défi. Sa belle insolence soutient sa distinction, elle parfait le spectacle. Elle est celle d’une femme sûre d’elle, arborant sa parure éblouissante, maîtresse de son pouvoir. Le paon est la figure d’une élégance altière, de la femme au sang bleu, gracile et sculpturale.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura GonzalezMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Cartier Madrid Laura Gonzalez

Nathalie Sommer - TJCA architectes

Méduse

  • Maître d’œuvre : Nathalie Sommer - TJCA architectes
  • Lieu : Villa privée - Genève
  • Projet : Sol en mosaïque de marbre
  • Surface : 30 m²
  • Livraison : 2019

Mathilde Jonquière a choisi la méduse pour habiller le sol d’une villa en Suisse. Mathilde Jonquière élabore et tisse de plus en plus dans son travail le motif animalier pour insuffler à sa recherche esthétique l’énergie du vivant et son mouvement. La méduse avec sa structure filamentaire nébuleuse, quasiment cosmique, s’est imposée dans ce lieu exceptionnel amarré au lac, entre ciel et eau. La méduse est de la famille des zoophytes. Entre la plante et l’animal, constellée de lumière, elle revêt sur la fresque des petits ronds de laiton qui courent le long de ses tentacules. Son rôle est encore mystérieux dans la biosphère: fascinante et menaçante, elle interroge. Son ombrelle constituée de mésoglée, matière aussi dense que l’eau, lui permet de se tenir ainsi, suspendue. Le choix du marbre pour représenter cette fluidité participe du projet de Mathilde Jonquière, de sa recherche pour transcender la matière, la détourner : le marbre immobile, rigide et dur comme la pierre s’anime soudain dans ce dessin, se pare de lumière, se met à onduler et décline les différentes couleurs du soleil levant. Entre dynamisme et abandon, entre courbes, lignes et fluidité, entre vides et pleins, les tentacules de la méduse se déploient gracieusement dans l’espace de l’entrée de la villa et évoquent harmonie et sérénité pour l’accueil de ce cadre d’exception.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA MeduseMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Sommer TJCA Meduse

Le Bon Marché

La Grande Épicerie Rive Droite

  • Maître d’ouvrage : Le Bon Marché
  • Lieu : La Grande Épicerie - Paris 16e
  • Projet : Fresques pour 4 étals
  • Surface : 80 m²
  • Livraison : 2017

La Grande Épicerie de Paris investit la Rive droite dans la très vivante rue de Passy. A cette occasion, Le Bon Marché a confié à Mathilde Jonquière la création de quatre fresques figuratives de 20 m2 mettant en majesté les produits et les savoirs faire. Pour la Chocolaterie, un liseré cuivré vient sertir chaque tablette de chocolat révélant ainsi toutes les facettes de la lumière de cette belle Tablettothèque. L’espace de la Pâtisserie nous présente des tartes au citron dont les émaux de verre sont presque jaunes fluo sur fond de grès cérame noir mat, créant un contraste contemporain. La Boulangerie, plus traditionnelle, montre un fond de fresque constitué de grès cérame blanc pur avec des filets d’or jaune vieilli, révélant un aspect contemporain par rapport à l’authenticité des épis de blé. Enfin la Poissonnerie met en scène de magnifiques Daurades Royales. Les tesselles d’or mettent en relief l’éclat du bleu électrique des queues de poissons, et le miroitement des matières donnent un mouvement et une profondeur au ban de poisson qui traverse l’espace. Mathilde Jonquière s’est amusée des codes du dessin figuratif au travers de ses recherches créatives, de découpes et d’associations à la fois minimalistes et remarquables, afin de saisir et surprendre toujours plus notre regard.

Mathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droiteMathilde Jonquiere Mosaique Grande Epicerie rive droite